Washington, D.C. and New York City, NY

September 14, 2008

The final two stages of my traveling saw probably the two most touristy places in the US. I was in each for both 3 nights and the both experienced the same weather: Arriving the weather was hot and ok, first full day the rain came down hard from the remnants of a storm, the next day was perfect and the day I left was ok. While in Washington I stayed with Rachel in her halls at Georgetown university and got to see the sights and even got to walk up the stairs featured in the exorcist. On the first day when the rain was coming down sideways we went to the air and space museum at the Smithsonian which featured exhibits from NASA missions and even a section with hands on physics. In the evening we went for a meal with people from Rachel’s floor at the tombs, an underground, rowing themed restaurant. The following day the sky cleared and the sun really came out and I went round all the monuments, the best has to have been the WW2 memorial, but the Washington memorial definitely is the most memorable.

The Washington Memorial

The next day I left for New York City, where I was staying in a hostel on 103rd W, that night I went up the Empire State Building for the view, where you could see for an apparent 20 miles.Surprisinly that evening (9/8) the memorial in light was on from ground zero.

South Manhattan from the Empire State Building

The next day the bad weather came back, part of the remnants of Hurricane Ike, but gave me a chance to do some shopping, where I saw Andy Murray in the Nike shop, went to the apple shop, and got lost in the maze that is Macy’s. Following suit the next day the weather cleared up completely and I went to liberty and ellis islands on the ferry.

The statue of liberty

Before flying back on 9/11 I went to ground zero where they were reading the names and did a final bit of shopping before running into the Obama motorcade, picking up my stuff and heading to JFK for the flight home…

Taxi in Times Square, NYC

Leave a Reply

