Aberdeen Aquathon

November 11, 2009

The halloween weekend saw 38 EUTri “multi sport athletes” descend on sleepy Aberdeen to race against the other Scottish universities in a short race, consististing of a 400m swim and a 5km run. Seen as a introduction to racing it was a great chance to practice doing one sport after another.

I was in the second heat and since learning to swim front crawl in September I was impressed at my own time of 7:33 which set me up to be the first out of the pool. With my body tired and expecting a rest I struggled with my laces and getting my t-shirt on wet before flying out of the door and setting out on the run.

The run consisted of 3 laps around the University’s campus and the first one was probably the hardest as I adjusted and struggled to get into a rhythm. One girl flew past me not long out of the pool but I managed to keep my distance on Sonya who was close behind. Having someone over my shoulder the whole way definitely helped to keep the pace up and by the end of the 3rd lap I was ready to finish with an overall time of 31:32, which I very happy with.

The evening saw us hit the town in assorted fancy dress before heading home on the megabus the next morning through the heavy rain and flooding but it did a chance to get some rest. The winter training now continues to prepare for more races over long distances ahead of the summer season next year.

Note: I’ll put up photos when they become available

Leave a Reply

